More Projects From the Ether

Marvel Universe According to Grey:

Yet another project that will never see the light of day, I had originally intended for the DCUG to be something somewhat smaller (and a great deal easier) than it has become.  At the time, I had planned on finishing it up some years ago, and moving on to Marvel for a while.  I’d love to tell stories about the Avengers (especially poor Hank Pym), the X-Men, Captain America, The Fantastic Four, and others.  I never had as clear cut an idea for these characters, though, most likely because their books from the 70’s are so excellent, and I can’t see that I would want to do too much differently.  Being more of a DC fan at heart, I’ve paid a little closer attention to the fate of that setting in the last 15 years or so than I did to Marvel.  As such, Emerald Twilight cut me deeper than Onslaught, and Identity Crisis wounded more dearly than Avengers: Disassembled.

This is not to say that those stories and choices don’t gall me, just that I thought more about matters on the DC side of the fence.  In general, I don’t have a story arc plotted out for these characters in the same way I do Batman, Aquaman, Green Lantern, or the like, which takes them from their origins to their finish.  All I really had were ideas of things NOT to do.  I would want to see Hank and Janet happily married.  I’d like to see Spider-Man grow up and be happy with Mary Jane not be retconned out of twenty years of history because Marvel seems perpetually trapped in adolescence and doesn’t seem to know what to do with marriage.  I would want to tell stories, as I have always wanted to tell stories, where maturity is a matter of complexity and depth, and not of sex and violence.

So, perhaps it isn’t so great a loss that I won’t be able to do with Marvel what I’ve done with DC, but that doesn’t mean that I wouldn’t still like to work with their characters at some point down the line.  Don’t be surprised if you one day see something Marvel from me, but also don’t be surprised if it looks nothing like the DCUG.  Besides, Previsionary has covered the Marvel U pretty well so far, hmm?

3 comments on “More Projects From the Ether

  1. AfghanAnt says:

    Yeah I agree – Identity Crisis was really painful to read.

  2. Benton Grey says:

    Ha….DC certainly knows how to treat their women characters. A non-hero woman can’t be strong and capable unless she’s a lesbian (which speaks of hack writing, no matter your feelings about it otherwise), heroes’ wives cheat on them, and they go crazy and try to murder people with a disturbing consistency. Well, that’s why I began the DCUG to begin with.

  3. […] In fact, I was simply going to sit on all of these secrets until I was ready to release, but a post someone made on Tomato’s excellent discussion board (which is serving as an interim home for the Freedom Reborn crowd) provided me with simply too much temptation.  A community member started a thread asking if anyone was working on any Marvel mods, and another member very kindly mentioned that he hoped to see one like my little DC project, the DCUG.  Well, some time passed with no one really answering these guys, and I just couldn’t take it anymore.  So, I released some teaser shots of one of my projects, the one I’m working on at the moment.  I still don’t want to say too much, but it is going to be called Marvel Adventures, and those of you who have been following my blog, such as it is, may find some clues about this mod in one of my ‘From the Ether’ posts. […]

Leave a comment